Contact Information

 

Solano County Library
Literacy Program


707-784-1526
           or
1-800-450-7885
 

Adult Literacy/ESL

 

Do you need help with your reading, writing or English speaking skills?  Adults come to the library's literacy program with a variety of goals. 

For example: 

 

  • Read to their children

  • Help their children with homework

  • Get a job

 

Adults can improve their literacy skills when they are given encouragement, guidance and appropriate materials. Trained volunteers help with free tutoring.

 

Adult Learner Qualifications:

 

  • Must be at least 16 years old and not attending high school

  • Live within the jurisdiction of Solano County Library

  • Read at or below the 5th grade level

  • Able to meet twice a week for 1 ½ hours each time

  • Commit to at least 6 months of tutoring

 

To get started, please attend one of the following New Student Meetings 

 

Fairfield Civic Center Library:

Thursday, September 25 – 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

Thursday, October 16 – 10:00 am – 11:30 am

Wednesday, October 29 – 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

Thursday, November 6 – 10:00 am – 11:30 am

Tuesday, November 18 – 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

 

 

Vacaville Public Library – Town Square:

Thursday, October 9 – 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

Tuesday, October 14 – 10:00 am – 11:30 am

Wednesday, November 5 – 10:00 am – 11:30 am

Thursday, November 13 – 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

 

 

John F. Kennedy Library – Vallejo:

Tuesday, October 7 – 10:30 am – 12:00 noon

Wednesday, October 22 – 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

Wednesday, November 12 – 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

Thursday, November 20 – 10:30 am – 12:00 noon

 

 

"I hated school. It's embarrassing when your peer would correct your spelling paper and you had practically nothing...The literacy program has really helped me by encouraging me. I never got that when I was a kid."

- Ron

Listen to Ron's Story